Ghostgirl

It’s been a while since my last post, and I’m sorry about that.  Part of the reason is that it’s the end of the school year, and I have about a ton of paperwork to do.  The other part of the reason is that my latest choice of reading material was really hard to get into.

In Tonya Hurley’s Ghostgirl, unpopular Charlotte chokes on a gummy bear at school and dies.  Interesting start to a book, yes?  In her new death, Charlotte meets other dead teens in her Dead Ed class.  Apparently, each of them has some sort of unresolved issue they have to work out in order to cross over, but Charlotte is more interested in staying with the living.  She’s still got a crush on popular guy Damen, and she’ll to anything, including possess someone, in order to get him.  Will Charlotte learn to “live” with her new circumstances?  Or will she try to be popular forever?

While I think Ghostgirl has an interesting concept (and a great cover), the book itself just didn’t do it for me.  Much of the book felt disconnected, and I never really got a handle on any of the characters.  I was bored through most of the book, and I had to force myself to finish it.  Other readers may feel differently about this book, but I just didn’t care for it.

Published in: on May 21, 2009 at 1:03 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://knightreader.wordpress.com/2009/05/21/ghostgirl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

