Slob

I am on a roll.  I’ve finished three books in two days.  (One of them was a really thin children’s book that I didn’t blog about, but I’m still going to toot my own horn.  After all, if I don’t, who will?)  Today, I finished reading Slob by Ellen Potter.  This was an easy, quick read that would be perfect for readers from upper elementary through high school.  Adults will enjoy it, too.  I would especially recommend this book to boys (and some girls) who may be seen as outsiders, particularly those students who are often the victims of bullies.  They will really relate to the struggles of the main character.

In Slob, we meet Owen Birnbaum, a twelve-year-old genius who happens to be the fattest kid at his school.  (I can totally relate…except I’m not twelve or a boy.)  Everyday is torture.  Even his gym teacher seems to enjoy tormenting him.  (I can relate to this, too.  I still shudder when I think about my middle school gym teacher.)  As if things weren’t already bad enough, someone keeps stealing his Oreo cookies, and the new kid, believed to be a complete psychopath, seems to be out to get Owen.

But Owen has even more to deal with that simply being bullied at school.  He’s working on an invention that will change the world and, perhaps more importantly, Owen’s life.  If it works, it will allow him to see something that happened two years ago, something that set Owen on his current course.  If Owen can just get the machine, lovingly named Nemesis, to work, he knows things will be better.  Sure, he’ll still be the fat kids who’s always picked on, but he’ll at least have the answers that have been plaguing him for two years.

As Owen grows more and more frustrated with his machine and the torture of being laughed at everyday, he must decide if he’s going to live in the past or deal with the present.  Only one path can make his life different.  Which one will it be?  Read Slob by Ellen Potter to find out!

In the past, I’ve read a lot of “fat girl fiction,” but this may be one of the first books I’ve read that offers a male perspective of how life is when you’re the “fat kid.”  In many ways, the experiences are similar, but there are some differences.  Gym class, for instance, seems to be much more humiliating from the male perspective.  Granted, it was bad for me, but not completely unbearable.  Owen’s experiences were absolutely horrible.  I would have done almost anything to avoid what he went through.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy Slob as much as I did, and if you’d like more information about this book and author Ellen Potter, visit http://www.ellenpotter.com/.

Published in: on November 13, 2010 at 6:04 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers