Sisters Red

I’ve never really liked the story of Little Red Riding Hood.  The girl in the story has always seemed incredibly stupid to me.  I mean, how can you not realize that a furry creature with big teeth, yellow eyes, and a growly voice is not your dear old grandmother?  (Although, now that I think about it, my own grandmother does growl on occasion…something to think about there.)  Anyway, the story of Little Red Riding Hood is turned on its ear and given a complete, and much needed, makeover in Jackson Pearce’s Sisters Red.  This book is a dark and hauntingly beautiful tale of the bond between two sisters and the horror that is both bringing them together and tearing them apart.

When Scarlett and Rosie March were young, a wolf stepped into their lives…and destroyed them completely.  The monster known as a Fenris killed their grandmother and would have killed the two girls, but Scarlett stepped up and defended Rosie from the monster.  Scarlett was brutally scarred in the attack, but she discovered at that moment what she was born to do–hunt and kill the Fenris that destroyed her world before they can do the same to anyone else.

As Scarlett and Rosie get older, they and their friend Silas, a young woodsman, work together to hunt and kill the Fenris that come into their small Georgia town.  The hunt is what drives Scarlett, but both Rosie and Silas want something more out of their lives.  But how can Rosie abandon her sister when it was Scarlett who saved her life?  She owes her sister everything.  The two sisters seem to share the same heart.  Thinking about a future apart from Scarlett is not an option.  Scarlett will not understand Rosie’s dreams of a different life, especially one with Silas, Scarlett’s most trusted friend.

Plans for the future, however, must be put on hold for a while.  Packs of Fenris are swarming into the nearby Atlanta area, and Scarlett, Rosie, and Silas know they must find out what they want and try to stop them from getting it.  Why are there so many Fenris in one area?  Who or what are they hunting?  And can Scarlett, Rosie, and Silas stop the threat around them while hiding so much of themselves from each other?  Read Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce to learn what happens when Little Red Riding Hood decides to stop taking crap from the monsters around her.

I know this is not one of my better posts, but it’s difficult to summarize this story in a few short paragraphs.  Suffice it to say that I loved Sisters Red, especially the wonderfully strong character of Scarlett.  She’s the epitome of a flawed hero (and I’m not talking about her physical scars).  She’s complex, she has jealousy issues, and she’d really like to be as oblivious as those around her.  But she’s not, and she knows she has to do something about the evil around her because no one else will.  I can really get behind a character like that.  (I also think I relate more to the character of Scarlett because I’m an older sister myself.  Even though my sister is an adult and six inches taller than me, part of me will always want to keep her safe.)

I hope you enjoy Sisters Red as much as I did, and I hope you’ll let me know how you think it stacks up against the original Little Red Riding Hood.  FYI, I just found out that a companion book to Sisters Red will be released in August.  It’s called Sweetly and is a retelling of Hansel and Gretel.  Score!

For more information on Sisters Red and other books by Jackson Pearce, visit http://jackson-pearce.com/.

Published in: on February 3, 2011 at 10:38 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers