Angelfire

My latest read, Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton, took me longer to read than I had anticipated.  It was a good book, but the images were a bit scary, and, now that school is out for the summer, and I’m sleeping during the day and reading at night, I have to be careful about what I read when it’s dark.  (I believe I’ve mentioned before that I am a wuss.  Here is further proof.)  Anyway, I finally finished Angelfire tonight, and, as soon as I’m finished with my post here, I’ll start reading something a little on the lighter side so that I don’t jump at every little noise.  Here goes…

Ellie is not normal, but she’s about to find out just how abnormal she really is.  She’s had vivid nightmares for as long as she can remember, and, after running into a mysterious yet familiar guy named Will, she realizes that the nightmares are really memories of past lives.  On the night that Ellie turns seventeen, Will, her Guardian, awakens her power and reveals to Ellie that she is the Preliator.  What is a Preliator, you ask?  It, or I should say she, is a warrior.  In this case, the Preliator is a divine warrior sent by angels to prevent the forces of Hell from generating an army and waging a war on Heaven that will lead to the Apocalypse.  (Heavy stuff, right?  I’m sure a seventeen-year-old will have no problem dealing with this.)

As you can imagine, Ellie is less than enthused about her “job.”  She’s having trouble remembering all of her lives and her real relationship with Will.   She spends all of her spare time hunting for and fighting demonic reapers (bad guys who drag innocent souls to Hell) or training to fight reapers.  Her grades are slipping, her friends are growing distant, she’s lying to everyone, and her relationship with her father…well, let’s just call that a little strained.  Ellie’s life is seemingly spiraling out of control, and she’s got to get it together if she, or anyone she loves, hopes to survive the evil that is growing ever stronger.

When an ancient evil enters the picture, Ellie and Will must do everything in their considerable power to stop the demonic reapers from gaining access to this fearsome weapon…a weapon that has the power to destroy the very essence of who Ellie is and who she’s been for centuries.  Is she strong enough to fight something she still doesn’t fully remember?  What is Ellie’s true role in this holy war?  And can her tenuous relationship with Will survive the battles that could rip them apart forever?  Read Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton to find out.

If you like Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments or Infernal Devices series, Lauren Kate’s Fallen series, or Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush series, you might want to check out Angelfire.  A lot of the terminology is similar in this book, but there are some pretty big differences.  The battle between good and evil is the same, though.  Also, there are angels, and who doesn’t love angels?  Out of all of these series, the Angelfire trilogy (yes, trilogy) included, I have to say that my favorite remains The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.  The others are good, but Clare has a way of creating a world that truly captures readers.  The others often simply tell about the world we’re visiting.  Take from that what you will.

I did enjoy Angelfire, despite the scariness of several characters, and I fully intend to read the rest of the series.  The second book, Wings of the Wicked, is scheduled for release sometime in 2012, and the third book, Hymn to the Fallen, should be out in 2013.  Fore more information on this series and author Courtney Allison Moulton, visit http://www.courtneyallisonmoulton.com/index.html.  The site is visually stunning, so be sure to check it out!

Published in: on June 12, 2011 at 12:13 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers