The Power of Six

Caution:  Before proceeding, you must read I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore.  (Seeing the movie is not enough, especially since, in my opinion, the movie was awful.)  That is all.

Nearly a year ago, I read an absolutely stellar piece of science fiction, I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore.  Since then, I’ve seen the movie (which I’ve noted above did not live up to the book) and read hundreds of other books while eagerly anticipating Number Four‘s sequel, The Power of Six.  Well, I finally read it this weekend, and I have to say that I think this book is better than the first one.  I opened the book thinking that it would be from Six’s point of view, and, at first, I was disappointed that it wasn’t.  My disappointment, however, soon gave way to excitement as I read the amazing story in front of me.  Yes, we learn more about Six and her journey with John and Sam, but we also meet another member of the Lorien Garde…Number Seven.

After John, Sam, and Six (and Bernie Kosar) faced and defeated hundreds of Mogadorians in Paradise, Ohio, they were forced to go on the run.  The results of that epic battle turned these kids into fugitives.  (Only a couple of people remaining in Ohio know what really happened.)  Now, they are hunted–both by the Mogadorians and by every government agency in the world.  They are believed to be terrorists when all they’re trying to do is save both Earth and the planet Lorien.  They must train to fight the Mogadorians while trying to figure out where the remaining members of the Garde are, all while trying to stay hidden from those who would seek to destroy them.

Across the Atlantic in a remote Spanish convent, a girl named Marina is searching for answers.  Who is this John Smith who keeps appearing on the news?  Could he be like her, one of the remaining members of the Lorien Garde?  What is his number, and how can she possibly find him with an ocean between them?  As Marina–also known as Number Seven–seeks the truth, she must also try to convince her Cepan, Adelina (who has embraced life in the convent), that training needs to begin.  Marina’s Legacies are developing, Mogadorians are on their trail, and the time is coming for a fight.  Marina pleas are rebuffed by Adelina, but the appearance of a small girl named Ella gives Marina new drive to claim her destiny, with or without the woman who was supposed to be her guide.

The Mogadorians are closing in on both fronts.  The Garde’s Legacies are powerful, but are they powerful enough to defeat an army of hundreds?  Will Four, Six, and Seven finally unite and search for the remaining members of the Garde?  How many are even left, and can they be found before the Mogadorians and their fearsome leader strike a blow that will mean the end of both Lorien and Earth?  The truth is out there, and it’s up to you to find it when you read The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore.

Like my review for I Am Number Four, this one in no way lives up to the awesomeness of The Power of Six.  This book was simply more amazing than I can put into words.  It was everything I love about a good science fiction book (meaning there’s lots of fighting with weird weapons, evidence of super powers, and really strange creatures).  I loved it, and I really hope Hollywood doesn’t screw up this magnificent book by making it into a movie that just doesn’t measure up. 

But wait…there’s more!  There’s also a very special story, available in eBook only, that gives us more information on Six.  It’s The Lost Files: Six’s Legacy, and is available through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and IndieBound.  I hope to dive into this story during the coming week.  I’d love to learn even more about how Six became such a powerful warrior.

If you’d like to learn more about I Am Number Four, The Power of Six, and author Pittacus Lore, visit http://iamnumberfourfans.com/.  I looked all over this site for mention of the title and release date of the next book, but I couldn’t find anything.  I’m hoping it will come out next year at the very latest.  We’ll just have to wait and see…

Published in: on October 9, 2011 at 4:44 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://knightreader.wordpress.com/2011/10/09/the-power-of-six/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. [...] Knight Reader – “everything I love about a good science fiction book” [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

