Shimmer

Warning!  Read the first book in Alyson Noël’s Riley Bloom series, Radiance, before reading this post.  I’ll be talking a bit about the second book, Shimmer, and I don’t want to spoil things for you!

As many of you know, I am in my second year as an elementary school librarian.  While my first love is (and always will be) young adult fiction, the past two years have made me examine quite a few books for younger readers.  Last year, I read Alyson Noël’s Radiance, and I saw right away how this book could be a gateway for my students into the wonderful world of YA fiction.  A lot of my fourth and fifth grade students want to read books like Twilight, The Hunger Games, and other popular books that are being talked about in the media, but, in my professional opinion, those books are not written or intended for readers that young.  (I’m not saying this is true for all elementary students.  Some, of course, are more mature than others.  I’m just saying I will not purchase these books for my elementary school library because they are not, in my view, written with younger readers in mind.)  Radiance, and the rest of the Riley Bloom series, allowed me to provide my students with at least one series that had some YA appeal yet was still appropriate for young readers.

Radiance was so popular with my fourth and fifth grade girls that I had to purchase the next two books, Shimmer and Dreamland, or I would have had a riot on my hands.  At the urging of my students, I put Shimmer on my Spring Break reading list, and I’m happy to say that I finished it just this morning.  (I’ll be reading Dreamland later this week.)  Shimmer was just as cool as Radiance, and I can’t wait to talk to my girls about it when we return to school next week.  (I know this will also be true of Dreamland.)

After the success of her first assignment as a Soul Catcher, Riley Bloom is enjoying a bit of a vacation with her dog, Buttercup, and her guide, Bodhi.  Surely she can keep herself out of trouble on one tiny vacation, right?  Yeah…not so much.

It all starts with a scary black dog and a conversation with Bodhi on free will.  Riley decides to exercise her own free will, follow the black dog, and find out just what he’s guarding.  This decision leads Riley, Bodhi, and Buttercup on a journey that will introduce them to another “ghost” (for lack of a better word) and force all of them to relive the most horrid experiences of their short times on earth.

Rebecca, in spite of her unfortunate tastes in afterlife clothing, seems to be relatively harmless when Riley first meets her, but Rebecca is holding on to a lot of anger, and she’s determined to make everyone as miserable as she is.  She keeps everyone around her—those who she blames for her death—imprisoned in the most horrible memories of their lives.  She even finds a way to make Riley, Bodhi, and even poor Buttercup experience the worst moments of their lives.  Can they escape the horror and anger that holds them captive?  Is there any way to get away and lead these tortured souls to the Here and Now?

Riley is determined to help everyone escape Rebecca, but she fears she may not be up to the task.  After all, she’s only twelve years old (and she always will be).  What could she possibly do?  She can barely let go of her own anger over the abrupt end to her life.  How can she possibly help everyone else let go of their anger and cross the bridge to the other side?  How can she convince Rebecca to let go of what happened in her life when Riley’s having such a hard time with the same thing?  Find out what “letting go” really means when you read Shimmer, the gripping second book in the Riley Bloom series, by Alyson Noël!

Although there are some scary moments in Shimmer, I would recommend this book—and Radiance, of course—to readers from fourth grade on up.  There may even be some third grade students who will be able to handle it.  I really think this book in particular will generate some discussions on the plight of slaves in the early Americas and the impact slave revolts had on slaves and their former masters.  According to the author’s note, the story was inspired by actual events, a 1773 slave revolt in the Danish West Indies (now St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands).  Realizing this made Shimmer even more poignant for me.

If you’d like more information on Alyson Noël and the Riley Bloom series, visit http://www.alysonnoel.com/.  You can also follow the author on Twitter @AlysonNoel.

If you’re still not convinced to give Shimmer a try, check out this book trailer from MacMillanChildrens on YouTube:

Published in: on April 1, 2012 at 11:51 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://knightreader.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/shimmer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

