Facts of Life

Gary Soto’s anthology of stories, Facts of Life, deals mostly with tweens finding their own places in the world.  Many of the stories deal with characters of Hispanic origin.  I think this book may be more suited to middle school, but some of my Hispanic students may relate to characters in the stories.

As you can probably surmise, I don’t have a lot to say about this book.  I can’t say that I really enjoyed it because I didn’t relate to many of the characters, and plots were thin to nonexistent in some of the stories.  There just wasn’t enough teen angst to suit me.

Leave a Reply

