Fade

Fade is the sequel to Lisa McMann’s bestselling novel Wake.  It continues the story of Janie, a teenager who is an unwilling participant in others’ dreams.  She is a dreamcatcher.

Janie is continuing her undercover work with law enforcement, and her relationship with her partner Cabel is developing nicely.  Her boss, Captain, has given her some notes from her predecessor.  Janie is reluctant to read Ms. Stubin’s journal because she is afraid of what her future as a dreamcatcher will bring.

Janie is also on a new case.  She is working undercover to catch a sexual predator at her high school.  Cabel is against her work on this case, and many arguments ensue over Janie’s position as bait for a predator.  As the case progresses and the identity of the predator is revealed, the relationship between Janie and Cabel becomes more strained, and Janie faces a danger that she never expected.

What will Janie do?  Will she catch the predator in time, or will she become the next victim?  What will be revealed about her future as a dreamcatcher?  Read Fade to find out the intriguing answers…

Wake and Fade are two books that are immensely popular with the young adults in my library.  I know quite a few adults who enjoy them as well.  I was thrilled to learn that there will be a third book, Gone, coming out in February.  I think it’s interesting to wonder how I would react if I could be involved in the dreams of others if it meant certain sacrifices being made in my life.  I honestly don’t know what I would do.  (Luckily, I don’t have that particular problem, but I am holding out hope that a superpower will manifest one of these days.)  It’s a mystery.

Leave a Reply

