My Most Excellent Year: A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins & Fenway Park

If you haven’t read Steve Kluger’s My Most Excellent Year:  A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins & Fenway Park, drop whatever you’re doing, go to your nearest library or bookstore, and get this book.  It’s awesome!  The story is funny, sometimes sad, funny again, and heartwarming.  I’d love to see more young adult novels like this one.  If the characters were real, I’d want to hang out with them.

T.C. Keller and his merry band of misfits live in Boston (in case the Fenway Park reference in the title didn’t clue you in).  T.C. is obsessed with the Red Sox and Alejandra Perez.  His brother, Augie, is getting ready to come out and loves musical theater.  Alejandra is an ambassador’s daughter who really wants to sing and dance, and she’s trying to deny that she has the hots for T.C.  The characters’ lives mish-mash into a hilarious tale that sometimes pushes the bounds of reality (but I personally think reality is for people with no imagination).

My Most Excellent Year is the story of the best year of their lives–9th grade.  I won’t tell you everything that happens.  You really must read the book.  But I will say that there is a special guest appearance by the great Julie Andrews.  When reading this book, I learned more about the Red Sox and musical theater than I ever really wanted to.  (As a die-hard Atlanta Braves fan, it is difficult for me to admit that I now have a soft spot for the Red Sox.)

No blog entry that I post could possibly do justice to this wonderful book.  Steve Kluger, you’ve hit this one out of the park!

Leave a Reply

