Paper Towns

Having read John Green’s previous two novels, Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines, I was expecting another winner when I started reading Paper Towns.  At first, I thought my expectations would be met.  As I continued reading, however, I found myself getting bogged down in a story that was as unbelievable as it was wordy.  Now, I’ve said before that I’m not a huge fan of reality, but Paper Towns was a little too out there for me when it comes to a book that is supposed to be realistic fiction.  That being said, I’ll let you judge for yourselves as to whether or not this is a good book…

Quentin Jacobsen is a bit obsessed with his next-door neighbor, Margo Roth Spiegleman.  She seems more than human to him, so when she basically orders him to accompany her on an all-night revenge-a-thon, he has little choice but to go along.  After this longest night of his life, however, Quentin discovers that Margo has gone missing.  No one knows where she’s gone, but she has seemingly left Quentin the clues to find her.  With the help of his friends, Quentin follows the clues that will hopefully lead him to Margo.  In the process, he learns more about himself and what it means to really know another person.  Will he find her?  Does Margo even want to be found?  Read Paper Towns by John Green to uncover the mystery.

Leave a Reply

