Secret Keeper

My latest read (finished about a minute ago) is Secret Keeper by Mitali Perkins.  It is about Asha, an Indian girl in a time of turmoil.  Her father has left India to try to find an engineering job in America, and she, her older sister, and her mother must go and live with her Uncle and his family in Calcutta.  It is a difficult adjustment for Asha’s family.  They don’t have the freedoms they enjoyed when living in Delhi.  But Asha strives to keep some sense of normalcy about her.  She looks forward to hearing from her father, spending time with her cousins, writing in her diary, and talking to her neighbor, Jay.

When tragedy strikes her family, though, Asha must take steps to make sure her family is secure.  She must choose between her own desires and the path that may be best for her family.  Difficult decisions are ahead for Asha.  Read Secret Keeper to discover which road she decides to travel.

While I did enjoy this book once I got into it, I preferred Padma Venkatraman’s Climbing the Stairs.  It is a similar story (set in India about thirty years earlier), and the writing is beautiful and rich.  Also, I liked the main character better than Asha in Secret Keeper.  Both characters are strong females, but I sympathized more with Vidya in Climbing the Stairs than I did with Asha in this book.

2 comments on “Secret Keeper

  1. Edi says:

    I read and enjoyed Secret Keeper. Climbing the Stairs in on my list to read..soon… I hope! I think middle grades will really enjoy Secret Keeper.

    • klknight says:

      If you enjoyed Secret Keeper, you should like Climbing the Stairs. I’ve got another on my list in that same vein, Beneath My Mother’s Feet. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

