Going Bovine

What can I say about Going Bovine by Libba Bray?  It’s weird.  (That’s a good thing in my world.)  I can see why it won the Printz medal for young adult literature.  It’s an awesome book.  The best description of the events of this tale occur on page 257 of the book:

“As a kid, I imagined lots of different scenarios for my life.  I would be an astronaut.  Maybe a cartoonist.  A famous explorer or rock star.  Never once did I see myself standing under the window of a house belonging to some druggie named Carbine, waiting for his yard gnome to steal his stash so I could get a cab back to a cheap motel where my friend, a neurotic, death-obsessed dwarf, was waiting for me so we could get on the road to an undefined place and a mysterious Dr. X, who would cure me of mad cow disease and stop a band of dark energy from destroying the universe.”

Yep, that’s Going Bovine in a nutshell.  This book has it all:  New Orleans jazz, Norse gods disguised as yard gnomes, self-obsessed teenagers, a cult with headquarters in a bowling alley, fire giants, goth angels, DisneyWorld, weird physicists (and I do adore some weird physicists), and many, many other things that seem random to readers…and turn out to be a bit random to the book’s main character Cameron, too.

Everything about this book is great.  Even the acknowledgments and the chapter titles were hilarious.  And, although the story is a little crazy (or a lot crazy) at times, readers will root for Cameron and his friends even when they have no idea what is going on.  Definitely a winner!

2 comments on “Going Bovine

  1. modestonfire says:

    I didn’t like A Great and Terrible Beauty at all, and had decided against reading her other books. Though after this review I might have to try Going Bovine.

    • klknight says:

      I felt the same way about A Great and Terrible Beauty, so I was hesitant to read Going Bovine myself. I’m glad I got over that. This book was unlike anything I’d ever read before. If you decide to read it, let me know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

