Fat Cat

When I first started reading Fat Cat by Robin Brande, I was expecting a typical “fat girl fiction” book.  I was pleasantly surprised, however, as the book progressed.  I honestly could not put this book down.  I was invested in Cat’s story, and I wanted to see if her experiment would really change her life.  I’m actually going through a similar situation myself, and this book actually inspired me to keep at it.

Cat is fat.  She knows this, but she is doesn’t really know what to do about it.  Until she begins working on her super-huge science project.  When she’s faced with the dilemma of developing a project centered around early hominins, Cat decides to live like they did.  She’s going to eat all natural foods and avoid technology as much as possible for the next 207 days.   Hopefully, she can prove that not only is all the junk food and stuff bad for the human race, but it’s reversing human evolution.

Cat knows her project will be hard on her, but, at times, it’s not even about the project anymore.  It’s about being healthier and happy with herself.  It’s about finally feeling like she’s more than just a smart girl.  It’s about finally facing all the people who’ve called her fat.  What will become of this project?  Will Cat win the science fair?  Will she finally be happy with herself no matter what happens?  Read Fat Cat by Robin Brande to find out.

Again, I loved this book.  I really enjoy how Robin Brande can integrate science into young adult literature.  She did it with Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Nature, and she’s done it again with Fat Cat.  If you like science or books dealing with food and body image issues, I strongly urge you to read Fat Cat.

Leave a Reply

