Betraying Season

When I started reading Bewitching Season last month, I was less than enthused.  Gradually, though, the story picked up the pace and I was drawn in.  In the sequel, Betraying Season, I’m happy to say that I was engrossed from the very beginning.  I already knew several of the characters, and I wanted to know how things would turn out for Penelope.  (You may recall that Bewitching Season focused primarily on her twin sister, Persephone.)  Anyhoo, Betraying Season, in my opinion, was the better of the two books, and I really wouldn’t mind seeing more of the Leland family, particularly younger brother Charles, in future books.

In Betraying Season, Penelope has moved to Ireland with her former governess Ally and Ally’s new husband to study magic.  After the debacle involving the queen last season, Pen knows that she must truly focus on her magical studies if she wishes a similar situation to be avoided.  Fate, though, may have other plans in store.

After nearly being run down by a carriage, Penelope meets the mysterious Lady Keating.  For some reason, Lady Keating takes Pen under her wing, introducing her to fashion and society in Ireland.  Pen is also introduced to Lady Keating’s son, Niall.  The two young people are almost immediately drawn together, but Pen cannot possibly concentrate on her studies in magic, her increasing abilities, and a potential romance, can she?  And just what is Lady Keating’s interest in Penelope anyway?

Readers soon discover of yet another odious plot involving one of the Leland sisters.  While Pen remains dreadfully oblivious to the events unfolding around her (and believe me, you’ll want to smack her on the head at several points), Lady Keating is planning a nefarious scheme to ensure that Niall takes his rightful place among the English royal family.  Does Niall even care about Pen at all, or is he using her to push his mother’s evil plan into motion?  Will Penelope realize what’s going on in time to stop Lady Keating from engaging in the darkest of magic?  Read Marissa Doyle’s Betraying Season for an intriguing and magical adventure.

While I did enjoy this book, especially the setting, I do think a pronunciation guide and dictionary for all of the Irish phrases would have been helpful.  I’m sure the way I was pronouncing some of the terms is nowhere near the actual pronunciation.  Other than that, I think Betraying Season is a winner!

Leave a Reply

