Me and Mr. Darcy

Most people are a bit surprised when they learn that I am a HUGE fan of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  Normally, I don’t like historical fiction, and most of the books I gravitate toward tend to have monsters, aliens, ghosts, and other fantastical beings in them.  Here’s the shocker, though.  At heart, I am a hopeless romantic (emphasis on the hopeless).  I enjoy a good love story, and, for me, it doesn’t get much better than Pride and Prejudice.  Elizabeth and Darcy go through so much to be together.  It’s enough to make a girl swoon.

Anyhoo, my latest read, Me and Mr. Darcy by Alexandra Potter, is the story of Emily Albright, an almost-thirty New Yorker who is fed up with dating and wonders why she can’t find a guy as great as Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice.  (She and I actually have a lot in common:  She works in a bookstore; I’m a librarian; she’s fed up with dating; I have no use for it at all; and we’re both-ahem-around the age of thirty.)  On a whim, and maybe a stroke of fate, Emily decides to take a vacation to England on a tour of the sites that inspired Jane Austen.

When Emily arrives in London, she realizes that she surrounded by a bunch of little old ladies and one single guy who happens to be writing a story on why women love Mr. Darcy so much.  This may not be the vacation she dreamed of…until she meets a brooding man in a poofy shirt and breeches.  Astonishingly, Emily is face to face with Mr. Darcy himself.  How can this be?  Is she dreaming, or has her fantasy finally come to life?  Emily is a bit shocked at this dramatic turn of events.  She finally has her chance to actually date Mr. Darcy.  Is he everything she hoped for, or is the fantasy better than the reality?  I’ll leave it for you to find out.

Although this book was a bit predictable, I must admit that I enjoyed it.  At different times in the novel, I wanted to scream at Emily that she was missing what was right in front of her eyes.  (Of course, I still do the same thing with Elizabeth when I’m reading Pride and Prejudice.)  This book was great brain candy and a perfect end to my spring break.

Leave a Reply

