Hero

I’ve always wished I had a superpower.  When I was in middle school, I was picked on a lot, and I always wished I could turn invisible or be able to fry bullies with just a look.  Now, I still wish for superpowers, but I’d like something like super-memory, telekenesis (for when I can’t reach the remote control), regenerative powers, or the ability to lose vast amounts of weight in a short period of time.  What can I say…I’ve matured.  Well, the main character of my latest read, Hero by Perry Moore, has actually discovered that he has a superpower, but he has to hide who he truly is from everyone around him.  Having superpowers isn’t all fun and games, you know.

Thom Creed is not your typical teenager.  Sure, he’s one of the star players on the basketball team and has issues with his father, but there’s definitely something different about Thom.  First of all, his dad is a disgraced superhero.  Secondly, Thom is just discovering his own superpower, the ability to heal, and is being recruited to join the League, a group of the very same superheroes that shunned his dad.  Finally, Thom is gay and hiding it from everyone around him.  But secrets have a way of coming out, so to speak, and Thom can’t stop the flood once it starts.

In Hero, Thom must learn what it truly means to be a hero.  How can he continue to save people when it seems that he’s hated by everyone around him?  Can he join the very group that disowned his father?  What’s the real story behind his father’s disgrace, and where was his mother in all of this?  Whether Thom is ready for these answers or not, he’s about to come face to face with his secrets and those of his family.  On top of all of this, someone is killing the League’s top superheroes, and Thom, along with some of the most unlikely heroes ever, are the only ones who can stop the madness.  Will they be able to save the world?  Can they save themselves while they’re at it?  It is even possible to be a hero and truly keep one’s own identity?  Read Hero by Perry Moore to find out.

I truly enjoyed reading Hero, and I think this would be a great book for LGBT young adults and other readers who are interested in comic books and fantasy fiction.  For more information on Hero and Perry Moore, visit http://home.perrymoorestories.com/.

Leave a Reply

