Jane Bites Back

As you may know, I am a fan of Jane Austen.  You may also know that I am fond of vampires (not that I’ve ever encountered one, but you know what I mean).  My latest read, Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford, combines Jane Austen and vampires in a way that I had not previously encountered.  I’ve read a couple of Pride and Prejudice adaptations that suggest Mr. Darcy was a vampire (which explains why he was brooding all the time), but this book went a different way.  Austen herself is the vampire.

Jane Austen is now known as Jane Fairfax.  After all, she can’t go around advertising that she’s one of the world’s greatest authors.  And she especially can’t advertise the fact that she’s a vampire.  That’s right.  Jane Austen is a vampire and is living in Upstate New York, owns a bookstore, and is attempting to jump back into publishing.  No one in the small town of Brakeston knows Jane’s secret, but that may be changing sooner than dear Jane would wish.

Jane has been working on a new book, Constance, for decades.  She’s received 116 rejection letters from publishers, but she finally gets the response she’s been waiting for.  A publisher wants her book and is convinced it will be a hit.  Jane suddenly finds herself thrust into the limelight, and there are some people who are not happy about it.  As Jane is dealing with the changes in her life, her past may be catching up with her.  Can she be successful (again) without revealing who or what she really is?  Is it even possible to have a somewhat normal life when you’re both a vampire and one of the most beloved authors in history?  Oh, what is a proper young woman (of 234 years) to do!  Read Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford to find out.

Wait!  The story doesn’t end here, folks.  The sequel, Jane Goes Batty, is scheduled for release in February of 2011.

2 comments on “Jane Bites Back

  1. Jennifer says:

    Are you trying to distract me from the YABA list? :-)I’m a huge Austen fan and a vamp fan (admittedly, not as much of a fan as you are). Now I’m going to have to get this book. Do you know if it is available on Kindle? I got kindle for my droid phone.

    • klknight says:

      I just looked on Amazon, and it is available on Kindle. If you don’t want to pay anything, though, just let me know, and I’ll let you borrow my copy.

      By the way, a sequel is in the works, too.

Leave a Reply

