Midnight Alley

Well, I’ve finally returned to Morganville.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, you need to check out the first two books in Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, Glass Houses and The Dead Girls’ Dance.  I’ve posted on each of these books, so feel free to read those posts before you decide if this series might appeal to you.  As for me, I’m hooked.  It’s after midnight here, and I’ve just finished reading book three, Midnight Alley, but I’m still planning to read a little of book four, Feast of Fools, before I finally call it a night…or early morning.  I know a lot of people have gotten their fill of vampires lately, but I can’t get enough, and I absolutely love the world Rachel Caine has created in this series.

(For those of you who know I like vampire fiction–yes, I have seen Eclipse.  I was at the midnight show at the IMAX theater closest to my town.  I loved the movie, and I plan to see it at least four more times.)

Moving on…in Midnight Alley, Claire and the gang are getting into even more trouble.  Of course, trouble has a way of finding you in a town like Morganville.  Claire has signed a protection agreement with Amelie, Morganville’s founder and the baddest vamp of them all.  In exchange for a certain degree of protection and freedom, Claire must do Amelie’s bidding.  When Claire’s housemates find out about this pledge, they are less than enthused.  Claire isn’t really thrilled about it herself, especially when it becomes clear what Amelie expects of her.

Claire begins working with someone who is weird even by Morganville standards.  As Claire soon discovers, her new “mentor” is not just weird, he’s sick, and his special sickness makes him very dangerous.  Still, she must keep working with him to keep her word to Amelie.  Claire soon discovers, though, that the work she is doing is vital, even essential,  to the survival of the town’s vampire community, including one of her best friends, Michael.  Can she learn all she needs to from the madman she’s been assigned to, or will he embrace his sickness and erase all hope of finding out how to stop the worst from happening?

Not only is Claire dealing with college classes, an undead housemate, a mad vampire scientist, and a boyfriend, but dead bodies are also turning up around her house.  She is convinced that none of her housemates are responsible, but her word may not be enough.  Who is doing this, and what do they want from her?  Hasn’t she been through enough?  Can things get any worse for Claire and her friends?  (Hint:  They can.)  Read the third installment in The Morganville Vampires series, Midnight Alley, to find out what happens to Claire and company and how they cope with living in a town where your next mistake might just be your last.

One comment on “Midnight Alley

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m trying to stay ahead of you, but you may very well catch up with me! I’ve gotten distracted from Morganville by the doings in Bon Temps. Been reading the 8th, 9th, and 10th books in Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series (True Blood series on HBO is based on these books.)

Leave a Reply

