Lord of Misrule

Warning:  Skip this post if you have not read books 1-4 in the Morganville Vampires series.  Spoilers ahead!

So, it’s day one of my vacation, and I’ve already finished a book.  Luckily, I have my trusty laptop and a wireless connection, so I’m able to post now instead of waiting until I return home (by which time I will have probably read about five more books).  I finished reading the fifth book in Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, Lord of Misrule, while on a long, narrow, winding mountain road, but I honestly don’t know if it was the book or the road giving me stomach cramps.  Both were equally tension-filled.

In Lord of Misrule, war has arrived in Morganville.  There are two different vampire factions–one follows town founder Amelie, and the other supports her super-scary father, Bishop.  But a third, and equally terrifying group, is emerging.  Humans tired of living under vampire rule are banding together to rid the town of the “monsters” that have been in constant control of Morganville.  Claire and her friends–vampire Michael, goth girl Eve, and bad boy Shane–must decide which side they are on.  Do they really have a choice?

As chaos reigns in Morganville, Claire doesn’t really know what to do.  She only knows that she must do something to stop the madness.  When the town’s vampires begin to mysteriously disappear, Claire is sure that things are about to get much worse.  (She’s right.)  Where are they going?  Why are they leaving in broad daylight when they are sure to die?  Can anything stop them?  Well, Claire has to find out, and fast, before she loses Michael and others she’s come to care about.

As Claire discovers what’s going on, and what must be done, she’s headed for a very difficult decision.  Stay loyal to Amelie, who is quickly losing ground, join the humans fighting for independence from vampire rule, or go against everything she’s known and turn to Bishop, the ultimate bad vamp?  Find out which choice she makes in Lord of Misrule.

This book made me very anxious, and I’m concerned how things will play out in the rest of the series.  The ending was a bit of a surprise to me and, in my opinion, really throws a wrench into the works.  We’ll just have to see how things play out in book six, Carpe Corpus.

Leave a Reply

