Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict

Well, another school year has begun, and I think I’m finally over my back-to-school reading slump.  It’s been worse this year than in previous years.  That may have something to do with the fact that, due to budget cuts, I was moved from my job in a high school library (which I loved) to an elementary school library (which is okay but will take a lot of adjusting).  Anyhoo, I just haven’t wanted to read much lately, but I think the dark times have passed a bit.  I’ve finally finished a book that should’ve taken me only days to get through instead of weeks–Laurie Viera Rigler’s Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict.

Courtney Stone, self-proclaimed Jane Austen addict, is in a bit of a predicament.  She’s not herself.  And when I say “not herself,” I really mean it.  She has just awakened in a body and time that is not her own.  After going a little nuts following a bad breakup, it seems she has mysteriously traded lives with a young woman in Regency England.  Who is this young woman?  How could this possibly happen?  And is there any way for Courtney to get back to her own life?

Courtney finds that she must, at least for now, live the life of one Jane Mansfield.  She knows nothing about this new life, how to behave properly, or how to deal with the horrible way women are treated (especially single women).  It doesn’t seem to matter how many times Courtney read Jane Austen’s novels.  They in no way prepared her for what life was actually like in this time period.

As Courtney begins to take on more and more of Jane’s life, including a courtship with the enigmatic Mr. Edgeworth and a chance meeting with Jane Austen herself, she wonders if she’ll ever be able to return home or if she really even wants to.  Is Courtney destined to truly become Jane Mansfield?  Read Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict to find out.

I must admit that this book was not my favorite Austen-associated novel.  I found myself getting distracted a lot, and the book was a bit repetitive at times.  I still plan to read the sequel, Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict, but it will probably be a while before I get around to it.  If you’d like more information about these books, visit http://www.janeaustenaddict.com/.

Now, I must get ready for the big YA novel releases coming up.  The third book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay, will be released on August 24th, and the first book in Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series, Clockwork Angel, will be released on August 31st.  Yeah, I think my reading slump is over.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

