Mockingjay

So, Mockingjay, the third and final book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, was released yesterday.  I finished it shortly before 6pm this evening.  Now, some of you may wonder why it took me so long.  Well, some of us have to work and be alert enough to deal with a bunch of elementary school students, so I had to break up my reading into two days to allow for work and sleep.  So BACK OFF!!!  (Sorry about that.  It’s been a long week already.)

Anyhoo, mere words cannot express how wonderfully awesome the entire Hunger Games series is, and Mockingjay is no different.  This post is going to be short since I don’t want to give anything away, but that in no way reflects the quality of this book.  To be honest, Mockingjay might be my favorite of the three.  I’ll have to reread the whole series to decide for sure, but it was action-packed from the first page.  I cried at several points, I got angry, and I even felt a little militant.  (It probably didn’t help that I listened to Uprising by Muse several times when I was reading.  That song always puts me in a revolutionary kind of mood.)  Mockingjay was everything I hoped it would be and more.  There were quite a few surprises, but Katniss remained true to the character that we’ve all come to know and love.

I encourage anyone who hasn’t to read the entire Hunger Games trilogy (The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay).  If you’re already a fan of the series, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed in Suzanne Collins’ gripping finale.  Read Mockingjay as soon as possible!!!  For more information on this amazing book, series, and author, visit http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com/.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

