I Am Number Four

I really don’t know where to start when it comes to my latest read, I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore.  This book absolutely blew me away.  I haven’t felt like this about a book since I first read The Hunger Games.  It’s that good.  It is an awesome example of what science fiction for young adults (and even older adults) should be.  You know the book is phenomenal when the movie adaptation is in post-production before the book is even released.  (The movie comes out in February of 2011, and I can’t wait to see it!  I just hope it lives up to this wonderful book.)

In I Am Number Four, readers are introduced to a group of aliens from the planet Lorien.  Just before their planet was destroyed, a group of children and their guardians left Lorien.  Their plan was to grow, train, and prepare for the day they could fight those that destroyed their home, the evil Mogadorians, and reclaim and begin to rebuild Lorien.  These children had special gifts, or legacies, that would develop in time, and their guardians’ objectives were to train the children and keep them hidden from the Mogadorians.  There were nine children in the beginning.  Number One was killed in Malaysia.  Number Two was killed in England.  Number Three was killed in Kenya.  Number Four is next.

Number Four, or John, as he is now called, and his guardian, Henri, are on the move again.  They know that the Mogadorians are looking for them.  Their next stop is Paradise, Ohio.  It is here that John begins to develop his legacies.  It is also here that John makes a friend, has a girlfriend, and finally feels like he belongs.  Unfortunately, John is not as hidden as he had hoped.  The Mogadorians are on his trail, and he has to decide if he’s going to run again or if he’s going to stand up to the evil that destroyed his people and is trying to destroy him still.  What would you do?  Would you run and hide or stand and fight?  Find out the fate of Number Four when you read Pittacus Lore’s I Am Number Four.

I am fully aware that I have not done justice to this wonderful book in this post.  I don’t think there even are adequate words to describe it.  Just read it, and judge for yourselves.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

For more information on I Am Number Four, the Lorien Legacies, and the mysterious Pittacus Lore (the book’s author, who is apparently Lorien’s ruling elder and is just biding his time here on Earth), visit http://iamnumberfourfans.com/.  This is one of my new favorite websites.

5 comments on “I Am Number Four

  1. Redhead says:

    I’ve heard good things about I am Number Four everywhere I look. . . that’s it, I’ve got to find a copy for myself. last time I was at the bookstore, it was flying off the shelves, you’d think it was required reading or something!

    • klknight says:

      It’s definitely worth the effort to find a copy. I’m recommending this to everyone I know. I can’t wait to see what they do with the movie. I just hope it doesn’t stink like some other movie adaptations.

  2. mickey says:

    I picked this book up after reading your post. I couldn’t put it down. I loved it. Great pick! But did you notice all the typos? The very first page has “blxew” instead of “blew”. There are several others. They must have been in a hurry to get to print to miss that on the first page of chapter one.

    • klknight says:

      I did notice the typos. I agree that the editors must have been eager to get the book out to miss something so obvious. The same thing was true with Stephenie Meyer’s Breaking Dawn. I guess they just wanted to get the books in readers’ hands and didn’t care too much about a few mistakes.

  3. Sarah says:

    This was an amazing book I couldn’t put it down. Can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

