Paranormalcy

So, it’s Tuesday, my absolute least favorite day of the week.  Work stunk today, I have a pile of laundry to do, I haven’t gone grocery shopping in nearly two weeks, there are three more days until the weekend, and I have to spend my Saturday dressed up at my uncle’s wedding.  But there is a bright spot, boys and girls!  I just finished reading an awesome book about some wonderfully weird creatures.  Now, I know that describes nearly every book I read lately, but this one is a little different.  This bleeping super book is Paranormalcy by Kiersten White.

Evie is a sixteen-year-old girl who works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency.  She’s the only person in the world (or so we think) that can see through the glamours of paranormal creatures, so it’s her job to bag and tag them so that the IPCA can keep track of them.  Quite the job for a teenager, no?  (Personally, I think it has to be better than working the drive-thru at McDonald’s…which I did for all of three days.)

Anyway, you could say that life is not quite normal, or paranormal if you will, for Evie, but it’s all she’s ever known.  She’s been at the IPCA since she was discovered wandering the streets alone when she was three years old, and she knows her “gift” is helping both humans and paranormal creatures alike.  Or is it?  (That question kind of gave the answer away, didn’t it?)

When paranormal creatures begin dying, the horrible events are traced back to a prophecy that somehow relates to Evie.  Could she possibly be the cause of these attacks?  Is there anything she can do to stop them?  Are her abilities and past somehow connected to what is happening?  Join Evie as she discovers just how paranormal she really is in Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy.

I really enjoyed this book.  It is one of the rare pieces of supernatural fiction that I think really doesn’t need a sequel.  (I wouldn’t complain if there was one, but the story wraps up nicely in this book.)  There’s the typical teenage snarkiness, a longing to fit in and belong somewhere, and a bit of romance thrown into this great story.  At the core, Paranormalcy is about a girl, human or paranormal, who is just trying to find her place in the world.

For more information on Kiersten White, Paranormalcy, and future books, visit http://www.kierstenwhite.com/.  I just went to the site myself and discovered there will be two sequels to Paranormalcy, so there you go!  Happy reading!

One comment on “Paranormalcy

  1. Tamara says:

    Just finished this book and loved it. Thanks for the review. Was so happy to see this book in my most recent Junior Library Guild shipment.

Leave a Reply

