Fallen

I don’t even know where to begin when talking about the book I just finished reading.  The book is Fallen by Lauren Kate, and am I ever glad that I just preordered the sequel, Torment.  It’s going to be a special brand of torment waiting on the next book to arrive.  Fallen had so much teen angst that I felt like I was drowning in it.  It was awesome.  (You’ll have to excuse me.  I work in an elementary school now, so I don’t get to experience all the drama that comes with working in a high school.  I really miss the angst.)  Anyway, Lauren Kate has done an awesome job of capturing the drama that comes with being a teenager and creating a supernatural tale that draws the reader in and remains unpredictable the entire way through.  I think that’s pretty high praise.

In Fallen, we meet Lucinda Price, new student at the Sword and Cross reform school in Savannah, Georgia.  What has she done to deserve to be in a reformatory?  Well, I’ll let you figure that out for yourself, but I will tell you it was bad, and it may have been way beyond her control.  Suffice it to say, she’s at Sword and Cross, and she will remain there with little to no contact with the outside world.  (Cell phones are prohibited.  Shudder.)

On her first day at this depressing new school, Luce sets her eyes on the most gorgeous guy she’s ever seen.  His name is Daniel Grigori, and he seems to recognize her.  When Daniel meets her eyes, he smiles, and then…he flips her off.  She was not exactly expecting that.  Despite his obvious dislike for her, Luce cannot get this beautiful boy out of her head.  It’s like she can’t control her obsession with him.  She has the feeling they’ve met somewhere before, but she just can’t remember where…

As events unfold, and the secrets that put Luce at Sword and Cross appear to have followed her, Luce is quickly beginning to lose her mind.  She doesn’t know what’s going on, and she can’t explain her mysterious connection to the enigmatic Daniel, who treats her like his worst enemy one minute and his greatest love the next.  What is really going on?  Why does Luce feel so drawn to Daniel?  Does he feel the same way?  If so, why does he keep pushing her away?  The answers Luce seeks may be closer than she thinks.  They may also be the death of her.  Read Fallen by Lauren Kate to learn how dangerous love can be.

It should go without saying that I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The characters were well-crafted, the story was spooky, the kissing scenes were steamy, and I was continuously kept guessing.  The only thing that I didn’t like was how the school’s librarian ended up.  That was just wrong.  (Read the book if you want to know what I’m talking about.)

I think Fallen is an ideal read for those who love Cassandra Clare’s books (which I do) or any other supernatural fiction with religious undertones.  The sequel, Torment, comes out next Tuesday.  To find out more about Fallen, Torment, and Lauren Kate, visit http://laurenkatebooks.net/.  (I’m a big fan of the picture on the the home page.)

Leave a Reply

