City of Fallen Angels

SPOILER ALERT!!!  Read no further if you have not read Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series (City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass)!  You may also want to read the first book in the prequel trilogy, Clockwork Angel, for good measure.  If you have read these wonderfully awesome books, you may proceed.  If not, well, what are you waiting for?  These books are WAY too good to pass up.  Get moving!

I don’t even know where to begin.  If you follow this blog at all, you know that I am a HUGE fan of Cassandra Clare.  So, when her latest book in the Mortal Instruments series, City of Fallen Angels, was released on Tuesday, I rushed to the closest bookstore as soon as I got off work.  (I’ve been waiting on this book for over a year, so I seriously contemplated taking the entire day off to read, but circumstances beyond my control prevented that.  Maybe next time.)  I began reading as soon as I got home, and only my need for sleep forced me to put the book down.

Yesterday, I did much the same thing.  I got home and started reading.  I could have finished the book last night, but something stopped me…and it wasn’t the need for sleep.  I have grown so attached to these characters that when I sense that bad things are about to happen to them (and I’m talking seriously, enormously, mind-numbingly bad), I don’t want to face it.  So I put it off.  I almost wish I hadn’t because I thought about what might be coming all day at work.  Again today, I began reading as soon as I got home, and things were worse than I could have possibly imagined.  When I finished City of Fallen Angels a little while ago, I just sat and stared into space because I honestly couldn’t wrap my mind around what had just happened to Jace, Clary, Simon, and the other characters I’ve grown to love.  I still can’t, so this will not be a typical post for me.  I’m not going to tell you much of anything about the book, but I will tell you that the wait for the next installment, City of Lost Souls, will be absolutely horrible.  (In case you’re wondering, City of Lost Souls won’t be released until May of 2012.  That’s right…another year of torture.)

Even though I am filled with anxiety about what happened in City of Fallen Angels and where it will lead in future books, I must say that I feel the same way about this book as I do City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, and Clockwork Angel.  In short, I loved it.  Cassandra Clare has a way of pulling readers into her stories and making them not only care about what’s going on but also feel the emotions of the characters she’s writing about.  I have adored her writing since the first page of City of Bones, and I don’t see that feeling abating any time soon.

As you read about Simon’s struggle with being the only one of his kind, Jace and Clary’s intense and tumultuous relationship, and a sinister evil infiltrating their very souls, you will be pulled into the fantasy that is City of Fallen Angels.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

For more information on Cassandra Clare and her awesome books, visit http://cassandraclare.com/cms/home.

One comment on “City of Fallen Angels

  1. Mickey says:

    Oh no, I’m scared now! I don’t want bad things to happen to these characters I love so much 😦 I’m still reading CoFA. I decided to read it slow to savor it. But now I’m too curious to wait.

Leave a Reply

