Thoughts on the final Harry Potter movie

As many people know, I am a huge fan of Harry Potter, so it should come as no surprise that I was at last night’s midnight premiere of the final film in the series, part two of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  I’ve been waiting a long time for this movie, and, let me tell you, it was totally worth the wait. I really think this is the best movie of the entire series. Were there some things different from the book? Yes. Did that take away from the awesomeness of the movie? Not a bit.

The movie was truly outstanding, and I think other people in the audience would agree with me. There was applause during several scenes, obvious crying at others, and cheering at the end.  I was especially moved by the scenes depicting Snape’s memories.  (I actually had to take off both my regular and 3D glasses so that I could wipe my eyes.  I cried a lot.)  I absolutely adored every scene with Neville, and I thought Professor McGonagall and Molly Weasley just rocked.  I was heartbroken by the deaths of some favorite characters.  (Yes, I knew what was coming, but it still made me sad.)  In the end, though, this movie provided a very satisfying conclusion to the series I’ve loved for the past ten years, and I plan to see the film at least a few more times.

I am sorry to see this series come to an end, but I have the awesome job of sharing Harry Potter with young readers who have never experienced this magical world. I hope they enjoy the journey as much as I have.

Have you seen this movie yet?  What do you think?  How do you think it compares to the book?  Are you as sad about the end of Harry Potter as I am?

Leave a Reply

