Divergent

After finishing my lastest read, Divergent by Veronica Roth, I don’t know how I can possibly write a post that will do this book justice.  Yes, it was that good.  We’re talking Hunger Games good here.  I was utterly enthralled by this story, particularly having to choose your entire future at the age of sixteen.  (I can’t even remember what I wanted to be when I was sixteen, and I changed my major four times in college–and still didn’t know what I wanted to be when I grew up when I graduated.  Luckily, I eventually figured it out.)  The choices aren’t always clear, and they lead our main character, Tris, into a very uncertain future…

In the not-too-distant future, society is split up into five factions based on particular virtues:  Candor (honest), Amity (peaceful), Erudite (intelligent), Dauntless (brave), and Abnegation (selfless).  Every year, sixteen-year-olds must choose which faction they will belong to for the rest of their lives.  They can stay with their families’ factions, or they can leave everything behind and choose a different faction.  Beatrice Prior, who grew up in Abnegation, doesn’t know what to do.  Her aptitude test doesn’t help her situation, either, as her results were inconclusive (not an entirely normal situation).  Beatrice is told that she’s Divergent, but she must not let anyone know about it.  She’s not entirely sure what this means, but she realizes that keeping her secret could be a matter of life and death.

Beatrice is torn between the family she loves and her own desires.  Can she leave her life of selflessness behind and look to a future without the support of her family?  Beatrice makes a choice that surprises everyone around her.  She leaves her old life behind, renames herself Tris, and works to be the best initiate her new faction has ever seen.  It’s not exactly easy.  Some of the other initiates look down on her because she’s from Abnegation, she’s small, and she’s, quite frankly, making them look bad.  Tris is bullied unmercifully, and an attempt is even made on her life, but Tris remains strong.  She makes some friends and gains the notice of one of her instructors, an eighteen-year-old with the odd nickname of Four.  But Four is not the only one who has noticed Tris…

As Tris and Four grow closer, Tris wonders if she’s found someone like her–a Divergent–someone whose test results were unclear, someone who could belong in almost any faction, someone who would be killed if the secret were discovered.  Can she trust Four with her secret?  And can Tris figure out why divergence is so bad?   What is so dangerous about being Divergent, and why will the faction leaders do everything they can to find and eliminate these threats?  A couple of these leaders suspect the truth about Tris, and they are watching her constantly for signs that she might pose a threat.  But a threat to what?

As Tris learns more about her self, she also learns more about her perfect society.  She discovers that tensions are running high among the factions, and some of those in power are preparing for war.  Tris knows she has to do something, but what?  With everything unraveling around her, what can she possibly do to prevent a massacre of her former faction, Abnegation?  Can Tris use her status as Divergent to save those she loves, or will it cause her to lose everything?  Read Divergent by Veronica Roth to learn how one choice has the power to change a life forever.

I hope this post has whetted your appetite for this book.  It is truly outstanding, and I think it will be very popular with both male and female readers.  It might also be interesting to think about which faction you would choose to be in if you were a part of this society.  I know I couldn’t be in Dauntless (I’m a wuss) or Candor (I lie remarkably well), and I think I’m much too selfish to be in Abnegation.  I could probably fit okay into Amity because I’m kind of a pacifist, but I believe I would be best suited for Erudite.  I love to learn, and a lifetime spent on academic pursuits definitely appeals to me.  (If you read this book, though, please don’t judge me by the Erudite faction members you encounter.  Some of them are just scary.)

If you’ve enjoyed books like The Hunger Games, Matched, The Maze Runner, Delirium, My Beginning, Birthmarked, or The Silenced, I think you will find another winner in Divergent.  The second book in the Divergent series, Insurgent, is scheduled for a 2012 release, and the third book, currently untitled, should be out sometime in 2013.  For more information on this exciting new series and author Veronica Roth, please visit http://veronicarothbooks.blogspot.com/.

2 comments on “Divergent

  1. Fran Bullington says:

    Kelly,

    I SO agree with you! I just read this book last week and told our high school book club co-sponsor that this was a must-read for this year. We met for lunch and then acted just like the kids – we met back at our branch library for me to turn the book in and her to check it out (as long as there were no holds on it – and fortunately there weren’t!).

    Hmmm….which faction would I chose? I followed your thought process and agree with each reason (we are too much alike!) so I’ll see you in Erudite-land!

    Fran

  2. Mickey says:

    I was so happy this book lived up to all its hype. Divergent, and Enclave, by Ann Aguirre, are by far the best dystopian books I’ve read since The Hunger Games.

Leave a Reply

