Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I don’t even know where to begin when it comes to the book I finished yesterday, Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  It was weird, creepy, and it messed with my head.  For the most part, I avoided reading it at night because I didn’t want to have nightmares.  (I think I’ve established in earlier posts that I am a wuss of the highest order.)  The photos (which are totally real) interspersed throughout the book moved the story along, but most of them also gave me a serious case of the willies.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is unlike any book I’ve ever read, and I have a feeling you’ll feel the same way if you decide to pick it up.

Jacob has always known that his grandfather, Abraham, was a little “out there.”  Abe was always making up stories about children with strange abilities, and he talked about fighting monsters in the past.  When Jacob was a kid, he accepted these stories as absolute truth, but, as he grew older, he came to believe that his grandfather was just telling tall tales.  As it turns out, however, Abe might have been telling the truth.

When Abe is killed in a horrifying and gruesome manner, Jacob comes face to face with his grandfather’s mysterious past…a past that centers around a home for “special” children and their caretaker, Miss Peregrine.  Jacob then makes a long journey to find the place that meant so much to his grandfather…and hopefully find the truth behind the stories and photos Abe left behind.

As Jacob explores the isolated island in Wales where Miss Peregrine’s home is supposed to be, he comes across some strange things…a house that is in ruins one minute and pristine the next, kids dressed in clothes that seem to be right out of a history book, seemingly impossible feats, and a connection to the girl who once loved his grandfather.  Jacob travels through time itself to uncover the mystery surrounding his grandfather’s death, and he soon realizes that he and the people he’s coming to care about may be facing an even greater threat…a threat that could wipe out their very existence.  But what can he do?  There’s nothing special about him…or is there?  Could he have the same “gift” as his grandfather?  Is he one of the “peculiar children” too?  Join Jacob and a motley crew of outcasts from Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children as they fight an evil that could destroy everything they hold dear.

Mere words cannot express just how creepy this book really is.  This is definitely one you need to see for yourself.  The photos alone are worth picking up this book.  I found myself anticipating which strange photograph I’d be seeing next and how it would play into Jacob’s story.  And even though I’m not usually a fan of time travel fiction, it worked in this book…and, even better, the photos made it even seem plausible.  (I know it’s weird, but work with me here.)  I look forward to seeing more in the next book in this series (which is currently untitled and due out in 2013).  I know we’ll find more creepiness to enjoy!

If you’d like to learn more about author Ransom Riggs and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, visit http://www.ransomriggs.com/.  You also might like to know that a movie adaptation of this book is in the works with Tim Burton set to direct.  What an absolutely perfect pairing!

2 comments on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. Tamara Cox says:

    I loved this one. Have you seen the book trailer? It is awesome and super freaky. My kids love it.

    • I haven’t seen the book trailer yet, but I’ll take a look at it soon. I can’t wait to see what Tim Burton does with this story. I’m picturing a lot of Edward Scissorhands type stuff.

Leave a Reply

