Crossed

Warning:  You MUST read Matched before proceeding…preferably immediately before.  (I read it a year ago, and I was amazed by how much I forgot.)  Crossed is the second book in Ally Condie’s Matched series, and you will be completely lost if you don’t know (and remember) what happened in the first book.

As you’ve no doubt gathered, I just finished reading Crossed by Ally Condie, my first YA novel of 2012. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a while. I just wish I’d had the time to reread Matched prior to starting this one…but I didn’t, so there you go. Crossed continues the story of Cassia and Ky, characters we came to know and love in Matched. In Crossed, the two are determined to find each other, but it turns out they are separated by more than just distance…

Both Cassia and Ky are now on the fringes of Society.  Ky has been sentenced to certain death in the Outer Provinces.  Cassia is working her fingers to the bone in a camp, never knowing when or where she’ll be moved next.  For both of them, the only way out is to escape to the Carving, a treacherous place where the Society rarely ventures. 

Both Ky and Cassia find their moments to run–with one or two helpful companions–but are they really running toward the same thing?  Yes, the Carving is where they’re both headed, but what then?  When they reunite (and I’ll call spoiler alert and say that they will), will Ky and Cassia have the same vision for their future?  Can they survive the Carving long enough to even have a future?  And what (or who) will appear to change everything?  Even though Ky and Cassia truly love each other, will it be enough to see them through the tough times ahead?  Read Crossed by Ally Condie to find out.

Like many second books in a series, Crossed felt kind of like a “bridge” book to me.  I loved the first book, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy seeing how the story wraps up in the third, but this book didn’t live up to the hype in head.  I wanted it to be so much more.  Don’t get me wrong.  It was a good book, and I’ll recommend it to my friends and colleagues, but I didn’t think it was as wonderful as the first book.  I really hope the third book helps to change my mind about this one.

Speaking of the third book, it doesn’t have a title or cover yet, but I do know it will be released sometime later this year.  I’ll post more information as I receive it.  In the meantime, you can learn more about the Matched series at http://matched-book.com/.

One comment on “Crossed

  1. Ermilia says:

    “You MUST read Matched before proceeding…preferably immediately before. (I read it a year ago, and I was amazed by how much I forgot.)”

    Oh that’s good to know. I have Matched in my TBR pile, but I wasn’t planning on reading Crossed right after it. Now I won’t start it until I have time to read them consecutively.

    -Eliabeth

Leave a Reply

