Last Breath

If you haven’t read the first ten books (yes, ten) in Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, turn back now!  Last Breath is the eleventh book in this addictive series, and, in my opinion, you need to read the first ten books to fully appreciate what’s going on in this one.

If you’re still reading this, I’m going to assume you’ve read the entire Morganville Vampires series thus far. By now, you’ve probably grown attached to Claire, Shane, Eve, Michael, and, in my case, Myrnin, and you’ve probably guessed (with the help of the title and the cover) that things in Morganville aren’t getting any better. In fact, they’re about to get much, much worse…

Our story begins with the planning of a wedding.  This, however, is not your typical joyous occasion.  See, the wedding is between Eve, a human, and Michael, a vampire, and it seems that most humans and vamps are finally in agreement.  This wedding should not happen.  Eve and Michael, rebels as always, are determined to go through with the wedding, and they enlist Claire and Shane to help them.  The wedding, though, will soon take a back seat to a new terror gripping Morganville.

Vampires are disappearing from the town.  Only a few, including Amelie (the Founder), Oliver (her second in command), and Myrnin (Claire’s certifiably-insane-but-lovable boss) know why, and they are terrified.  Now, it takes a lot to terrify centuries-old vampires, but the evil headed their way has these three shaken to the core.  What could make three of the most powerful vampires in the world ready to close up shop in Morganville, and what does this mean for the human inhabitants of the town?  (Nothing good, I assure you.)

Claire has a bad feeling about what’s happening in Morganville, and she’s certain it has something to do with the mysterious, nondescript guy she keeps seeing around town.  She knows he’s at the root of what’s going on, but there’s a big problem.  She’s the only person who can see him.  And when he realizes it, Claire becomes a target for an evil that even vampires fear.

Will vampires and humans be able to unite to face the horror that is ripping their town to shreds?  Or will this finally be the end of Morganville and all who reside there?  Read Last Breath, the eleventh installment in Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, to unravel the mystery!

Let me just say that I think I need some intense therapy after reading Last Breath.  I laughed, I cried (sobbed is probably more accurate), I used some not-nice words, and I’m still a little tense about how this story unfolded.  When I was a little over halfway through the book, I was ready to send an email to the author simply asking her, “Why?”  After eleven books, I am very invested in what happens to these characters, and I’ll go ahead and tell you that, at several points, I felt like the author had ripped my heart out.  (That’s the mark of an excellent series, in my book.)  I’m recuperating now, but I’m still anxious about where the next (and final?) book in this series will take the characters I’ve come to love.

Book twelve in this series, Black Dawn, is due to be released on May 1st of this year.  The cover is below.

For more fun in Morganville, visit http://www.morganvilletexas.com/Morganville_Texas/Home.html.

And for those of you who haven’t entered the world of the Morganville Vampires and continued with this post (despite my warning), here’s the list of books in this series (in order).  Read at your own risk.  These books will suck you in!

Leave a Reply

