Everneath

I spent the majority of yesterday engrossed in yet another book that made my blood pressure rise.  As I got closer to the end, I had to put the book down for a while because the tension was getting to be too much for me (and I had a feeling the book’s ending would be less-than-happy).  When this happens, I know the author has done his/her job.  The book I’m talking about this time is Everneath by Brodi Ashton, the first book in a new series that is sort of a retelling/reimagining of a few myths (Isis and Osiris, Orpheus and Eurydice, Hades and Persephone) and how they might exist in the modern world.  As we all know, I love me some mythology, so it’s not really a shocker that I adored Everneath (even though I felt like I needed Prozac while I was reading).  And even though I wasn’t crazy about the ending, I look forward to some kind of satisfactory resolution during the next two books.

Nikki Beckett has spent the past century as a prisoner in the Everneath. Now, she has returned to her life, where only six months have passed. Six months for her family and friends to wonder where she is and why she left. Six months for so much to change…including the relationship with her boyfriend, Jack. Yes, Nikki has returned, but not for long. For in six short months, the Everneath will reclaim her…this time, forever.

As Nikki readjusts to her old life and prepares for her eventual return to the shady underworld of the Everneath, she must come to terms with the circumstances that led to her choice (yes, choice) to leave all the pain and betrayal behind for a “life” in the Everneath.  As her memories of the Surface return, Nikki realizes that she is largely to blame for what has happened to her.  But there is one other person who shares that blame…Cole, the enigmatic being who made the Everneath sound so appealing when Nikki was at her weakest.

Cole played on her emotions once, and he’s doing it again.  He knows that Nikki’s time on the Surface is limited, and he knows what awaits her upon her return to the Everneath.  (Hint:  It’s not good.)  But he has an alternate proposition.  Cole wants Nikki to help him overthrow the queen of the underworld and rule with him forever.  There’s something special about Nikki, and she’s the only one who can help Cole in his quest for power.  The idea has its merits, but Nikki is torn between her desire to forget all of her pain and her love for the boy whose memory kept her going during her century in the Everneath.  She just can’t let Jack go again…and it seems the feeling is mutual.

Nikki becomes determined to do everything possible to remain on the Surface with Jack and her family.  With a little help, she discovers a few things about the Everneath that might just make this mysterious underworld crumble.  But at what cost?  Nikki has already given up so much of herself to the Everneath.  What will she have to sacrifice now to bring prevent her return to this shadowy, horrifying world?  Will the Everneath prevail and take her back to its depths, or will Nikki be able to find some kind of salvation and redemption?  Uncover the mystery when you read Everneath by Brodi Ashton!

Well, it’s been almost an entire day since I finished this book, and I’m still thinking about what happened, especially how it concluded.  I fell in love with all of the major players in this story:  Nikki, Jack, and Cole (who I think is totally misunderstood–kind of like Darth Vader).  I look forward to spending more time with these characters in the next two books.  The second book, Everbound, should be released on January 22nd, 2013.  While we wait, let’s look at the beautiful cover for this highly anticipated book.  It’s made of pretty!

The third book in this trilogy is currently untitled, but I’m guessing it will be out early in 2014.  If you’d like more information on Brodi Ashton and the Everneath trilogy, visit http://www.brodiashton.blogspot.com/ or follow the author on Twitter @brodiashton.  You may also want to check out this awesome Everneath book trailer from HarperTeen.  It captures this book in a way that I can’t hope to.

Leave a Reply

