The Hobbit

I first read The Hobbit when I was in the fourth grade. Over twenty years have passed since then, and I figured I needed to reread this epic novel before I saw the movie on December 14th. (As you can imagine, I’ve forgotten a bit in 20+ years. I didn’t, however, forget how freakin’ awesome this book was.) I remembered most of the major events of the novel, but I think my immature 10-year-old brain just didn’t grasp the importance of some of the details…or even how amazing Tolkien’s writing was. My 33-year-old brain had no such problems. I know I appreciate the book more now, but I’ll always be glad I read The Hobbit as a child because it was really my introduction to fantasy fiction. I’ve loved fantasy ever since.

Now, unlike most of the books I talk about here on Knight Reader, I’m not going to tell you much of anything about this book. I shouldn’t have to convince anyone to read The Hobbit. It is a classic piece of fantasy for a reason, and, if you consider yourself a fan of fantasy at all, you should have already read this book. If you are simply a literature buff, you need to read this book. J.R.R. Tolkien is a legend, and his work should be read by everyone. Just my opinion (but I’m usually right about these things.) 😉

Unless you live under a rock (or in a hobbit-hole or in a mountain with a fire-breathing dragon), you know that the movie adaptation of The Hobbit comes out in two weeks. I have no doubt that this film will be just as awesome as the movie adaptations of The Lord of the Rings trilogy. After all, Peter Jackson is at the helm once again. I also can’t wait to see how Martin Freeman (who also plays Dr. Watson in the BBC’s Sherlock, one of the best shows on TV) portrays Bilbo Baggins. I’m fairly certain this role will make Mr. Freeman into even more of a nerd icon than he already is.

It will surprise no one that I have every intention of being present at the midnight premiere of The Hobbit. I will be watching it in an IMAX 3D theater, and I’ll enjoy every minute of it. As I was for all three Lord of the Rings movies, I’ll be joined by my dad. (Both of us have already taken the next day off work. It’s kind of a nerd holiday for us.) I can’t wait to share this experience with him, and I know this will be a memory we treasure forever. I just hope the movie lives up to our expectations. I have a feeling it will.

To whet your appetite for what is sure to be an awesome movie-going experience, check out one of the many trailers for The Hobbit. (I’ve included one below.) I will say, though, that I highly recommend reading or rereading the book before you see the movie. It adds so much depth to the entire experience. I think all avid readers would agree with me there.

Leave a Reply

