Knight Reader 2012

KR2012

It’s that time of year again. Time to recap the amazing books I’ve read throughout the year. By the day’s end, I will have read 370 (!) books in 2012. Some of those were picture books, some were romance novels, a few were eBook novellas, several were middle/upper elementary chapter books, and most of my favorites were, of course, young adult novels. I didn’t review every book I read here on Knight Reader, but you can check out my reviews of elementary-friendly titles on Knight Reader Junior. (There is some duplication between this site and that one.)

Anyway, I thought I’d spend a little time today going back through the books I featured on this blog during 2012 and, like I did last year, choosing my favorite books of the year. I didn’t realize just how difficult a task this would be until after I’d started, but, hey, it’s too late to turn back now, so here goes!

January

Top pick for January 2012:  A Million Suns by Beth Revis

February

Top pick for February 2012:  The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

March

Top pick for March 2012:  Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

April

Top pick for April 2012:  The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

May

Top pick for May 2012:  City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare (followed closely by Veronica Roth’s Insurgent)

June

Top pick for June 2012:  Rapture by Lauren Kate

July

Top pick for July 2012:  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

August

Top pick for August 2012:  Endlessly by Kiersten White

September

Top pick for September 2012:  Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

October

Top pick for October 2012:  Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

November

Top pick for November 2012:  Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (I took The Hobbit out of the running because it was a re-read.)

December

Top pick for December 2012:  The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

And now for the really hard part…my top ten books of 2012!

10.  The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan
9.   The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
8.   Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
7.   The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
6.   Wonder by R.J. Palacio
5.   Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
4.   Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
3.   Insurgent by Veronica Roth
2.   City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

…and for those still reading who aren’t totally shocked that City of Lost Souls is #2, my top read of 2012 is…

1.   The Fault in Our Stars by John Green!

It’s been a great year of fabulous books! Even though I didn’t get to read as many of the titles on my to-read list as I would have liked, I did experience some books that weren’t on my radar this time last year. Some of those, like Wonder and The Fault in Our Stars, were so powerful that I can honestly say I felt like a changed person (for the better) after reading them. Here’s hoping that 2013 has some similar surprises in store!

That’s all for now. I’ll be back tomorrow with a lineup of new releases that I’m most looking forward to in 2013. Happy New Year, dear readers!

Leave a Reply

