Just One Wish

It’s no secret that my favorite genres–books, movies, TV shows–are fantasy and science fiction. Occasionally, though, I like to mix things up and read some realistic fiction. A few days ago I began reading Just One Wish by Janette Rallison, a book that’s been in my to-read pile for a few years. Despite the title (which one may think indicates some sort of magical wish fulfillment), this is a work of realistic fiction. There’s only one problem. I found the entire premise of the book to be just as outlandish as most of the fantasy I read. I get that the main character wants to do something a little out there for her sick brother, but how she went about it and the results are just too far-fetched for me. Also, when I pick up a book with a cover like the one you see below, I expect sunshine and rainbows at the end. That didn’t exactly happen.

Annika Truman’s six-year-old brother, Jeremy, is about to undergo surgery to remove a brain tumor. Annika is desperate to give him hope, so she comes up with a story about a genie who will grant a couple of Jeremy’s wishes–as long as his final wish is to make it through his surgery okay. She thinks that Jeremy will wish for the most sought-after toy in the world, a Teen Robin Hood action figure, which she’s already bought him. Unfortunately, Jeremy has something else in mind. He wants to meet the real Teen Robin Hood…as in the actor who plays the character. What’s Annika to do now? She’ll do just about anything to make Jeremy happy…so she hits the road to track down one of the most popular teen stars in Hollywood.

Apparently, when you’ve got a will of iron and a loyal best friend backing you up, it’s amazingly easy to find a celebrity. Annika and her friend get up to some pretty crazy shenanigans in their quest to find Teen Robin Hood, better known as actor Steve Raleigh. Here’s the kicker:  They succeed.

Annika’s methods aren’t entirely legal, and trouble ensues, but Annika finally gets the chance to ask Steve, who is even more gorgeous than he appears on TV, to help her little brother. All he has to do is take a little time out of his very busy schedule to visit with a sick kid. Happens all the time, right?

But what if Steve says no? What if Annika has spent all this time–time she could have been spending with her little brother–for nothing? And what if Steve agrees to help? What then? Will it be enough to give Jeremy–and, more importantly, Annika–faith that everything will turn out okay? What if this one wish just isn’t enough? Read Just One Wish by Janette Rallison to learn how far one girl will go to bring hope to a situation that is beyond her control.

As I said before, I found this book to be entirely unbelievable…except the end, which was way too believable. If you’re going to give me a story that makes me suspend reality and think that a seventeen-year-old girl could disappear for a weekend–without her parents having a clue what’s going on–to find a popular celebrity and get him to visit her brother, you could at least give me the ending that I want. And what is up with the schmaltzy romance that, in my opinion, is just as unlikely as almost everything else in this book? It just didn’t make sense to me, but maybe that’s because I’m looking at this from an adult perspective. I’m sure teens want to think that simply meeting a favorite celebrity would be enough to make them fall in love. (Okay, okay…I’ll admit that I have a serious crush on Benedict Cumberbatch, and I’m holding onto the hope that he’ll sweep me off my feet one of these days. I’ll get off my high horse now.)

At any rate, this book wasn’t for me. There was very little about it that I thought was realistic. Feel free to disagree, but, as for me, I think I’ll move on to reading about something more likely to happen…like an alien invasion. Peace out.

Leave a Reply

