Happy Blogoversary to me!

5th blogoversary

It’s hard to believe that Knight Reader is celebrating it’s 5th blogoversary today. I remember starting this blog at the Upstate Technology Conference in 2008, but I had no idea that it would become such a big part of my life. Throughout personal and professional joys and sorrows, I’ve turned to Knight Reader as a kind of release. Knight Reader is, of course, a book blog, but it also allows me to share a bit of myself with the world…often parts of myself that not even those closest to me really know about.

At least once a week, I think of letting Knight Reader fall by the wayside, but something always stops me. Even though this isn’t the most popular book blog out there, I do feel like I’m doing some good. I have several loyal followers–very few of whom ever make comments–and it’s nice to know that they’d be upset if I ever stopped blogging.

In five years of blogging as Knight Reader, I’ve written almost 450 posts, and nearly 40,000 people have visited the site. I even started a companion blog, Knight Reader Junior, to promote books suitable for elementary readers. I can only hope that the next five years bring more good things to this site that has come to mean so much to me.

So, I guess it’s up to me to celebrate this milestone today. (Hard as it is to believe, very few of my closest friends and family have any idea that this is such a big part of who I am.) I think I’ll lounge around a bit, grab some Chinese food for lunch, and, of course, spend some time reading.

Thanks for indulging me today, and I hope you continue to enjoy Knight Reader!

2 comments on “Happy Blogoversary to me!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Congrats on 5 years! I don’t comment often, but faithfully read every blog. I have read so many books you’ve recommended and have passed on many to my nieces and the one nephew who reads (he actually introduced to be Twilight by telling me he thought I might like it)

    To say the least, it is now one of my fav books and series. I also am now devoted to Gayle Forman and several others. Some series I get bogged down in, but overall you are such a welcome treat. Please keep blogging!!!!!

Leave a Reply

