If I Should Die

Warning! This post will focus on If I Should Die, the final book in Amy Plum’s Revenants series, so I suggest you turn back now if you aren’t caught up. Before proceeding, you need to have read Die for Me, Until I Die, and Die for Her, the ebook novella from Jules’ point of view!

If you’re still reading this, I will assume that you’ve read, at the very least, the first two books in this series. Just minutes ago, I finished the third and final book in Amy Plum’s Revenants series, If I Should Die. After the epic cliffhanger in Until I Die and what happened in Die for Her, I dove right into this final installment. (If I had actually read Until I Die when it first came out, I suspect I would have expired from a bad case of the feels. That ending nearly did me in…and reading Die for Her on top of that felt like someone ripped out my heart and stomped all over it.)

After my initial shock concerning the end of the previous book and the beginning of this one, I paused for a bit and gave this book the time it deserved. (I spent nearly a week with it.) Even though I suspected some of the events that transpired in If I Should Die, I was pleasantly surprised by how those events actually came about. The main character in this series, Kate, morphed from a girl crippled by grief into a true hero and, in my opinion, entered the pantheon of strong, take-no-prisoners, female characters in YA literature. Of course, what can you expect from a girl who’s read The Princess Bride almost as many times as I have?! (That little tidbit was probably one of my favorite parts of this book.)

Kate is overcome with grief.  Violette, a Revenant once considered a friend, has betrayed everyone in her quest for power. Violette, the new leader of the numa of Paris, has kidnapped Kate’s beloved Vincent–thought to be the Champion–destroyed his body, and bonded his volant spirit to her own. At first, Kate is sure there is nothing that she can do, but she soon realizes that there may be a small shred of hope. Vincent’s spirit is still out there somewhere. She just has to find a way to make him completely whole again.

Kate will have to tap resources she didn’t know even existed in order to bring Vincent back, and, along the way, she’ll learn more than she ever dreamed possible about the Revenants–both bardia (good) and numa (bad)–and their history, ancient rituals, and even what her own fate might be.

Reuniting with Vincent is only one part of this epic battle against the traitorous Violette. It seems that Kate has a much bigger role to play than almost anyone–even herself–suspected. What will she have to do–or become–to really set things in motion for a final showdown with Violette and her numa army? Is Kate prepared for what’s coming and what it could mean for her future with Vincent? Is a future even possible when the fate of nearly all Revenants rests on Kate’s shoulders? No matter what, Kate must get ready to fight for everyone and everything she loves. Is she strong enough to triumph? I guess there’s only one way to find out…

I tried my best not to give too much away here, and I’m not sure I’ve been entirely successful. Some of what happened in this book was rather blatantly foreshadowed, in my opinion, but how it played out wasn’t. There were a few surprises in this book, a couple of which actually made me want to toss the book across the room. Always a good sign!

In posts on the previous books in this series, I’ve compared the characters and plot to those in the Twilight series. Well, some of those comparisons continue in this book, but, thankfully, the final epic battle is not one of them. There actually IS a fight! (Not like that huge disappointment at the end of Breaking Dawn. My apologies to all the Twi-hards out there, but you have to admit that was a rather large letdown.) I wanted a battle, and I got one. Some of the characters I liked didn’t make it, but that’s kind of what’s supposed to happen in a battle.

All in all, I would highly recommend the entire Revenants series to any reader who enjoys complicated love stories, action, lush settings, and strong female characters. While some would argue that this series is one long supernatural love story, I think it’s more than that. To me, it’s one girl’s quest to be the person she was always meant to be. Yes, finding the love of her life factored into her journey, but I honestly think she would have been just as strong on her own. Just my two cents.

If you’re not already a fan of this series, I urge you to check it out. You may also be interested in the author’s website, her Twitter feed, her Goodreads page, her Facebook page, and Revenants Central on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

