Every Day

I started reading Every Day by David Levithan way back on August 18th.  It took me until September 5th to get through the first 75 pages of this book.  I honestly don’t know why I wasn’t super-engaged in this book.  The premise is right up my alley–someone wakes up in a different body every day.  Why then, did it take me so long to get invested?  Maybe I’ll figure it out through the course of this post.  (In case you were wondering, I read pages 76-322 yesterday while in a hospital waiting room.  More on that later.)

What would you do if you didn’t know where–or who–you’d be from day to day?  That’s reality for “A.”  One day he could be in the body of the most popular boy in school.  The next day he’s experiencing the life of a suicidal girl who lives hundreds of miles away.  Every day, A is someone different.  This existence is all A has ever known, and he’s pretty sure there’s no one else in the world like him.  The best he can hope for is not to screw up his hosts’ lives too badly.

But everything changes when he inhabits the body of Justin. Justin is normally not a great guy, but he has one thing that changes everything A has ever felt about himself or the world around him.  Justin has Rhiannon, a girl that A almost immediately falls in love with.  But how can A cope with only having one day with this remarkable girl?  One day during which she’ll only know him as a kinder version of her boyfriend?  Is there any way for A to keep a relationship with Rhiannon going?  If he can, what will be the cost…to both A and Rhiannon?

As A grows closer and closer to Rhiannon, he begins breaking more of his own rules.  He’s tampering with his hosts, and it’s not going unnoticed.  A is also growing to resent the only life he’s ever known.  When you’re a different person every day, how can you hold on to anyone or anything?  But could there possibly be a way out of this life without A hurting himself, his hosts, and Rhiannon?  Only time will tell…

_______________

Even after finishing this book, I’m not sure how I feel about it. I still think the premise is great, but I would have liked a bit more resolution at the end. I feel like too many things were left up in the air. I’m not sure if there will be a sequel or not, but I would like to know how things end up for A. (Spoilers! Every Day did not, in my opinion, end on what I would call a positive note. Maybe the lack of happy ending is what’s bothering me.) Apparently, there will be a companion novel, Rhiannon, which–you guessed it–tells Every Day from Rhiannon’s point of view. This book is not scheduled to be released until sometime in 2015. I don’t know if I’ll pick it up or not. We’ll see.

_______________

Now, for those still reading who are curious as to why I was in a hospital waiting room most of the day yesterday, here we go.  My sister was giving birth to my second niece!  Yesterday, we welcomed Sarah Elizabeth “Ellie” Payne into the world!  Mom and baby are doing well, and my entire family is ecstatic about our new addition!

If you’d like to see a picture of Ellie, check out my Twitter feed in the sidebar here.  (For those who are not following me on Twitter yet, my handle is @KnightReaderSC.)

Leave a Reply

