Only the Good Spy Young

I’ll keep this short. If you haven’t already read the first three books in Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series, go no further. Seriously.

Last month, I started my journey with the Gallagher Girls in I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. The journey continued with Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy and Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover. This weekend, I finished the fourth book in this series, Only the Good Spy Young.

Just like the third installment, this book has Cammie and her friends facing very real dangers (instead of simply training to one day face danger as top-notch spies). This fourth book was rife with tension, and I’m still not entirely certain who can be trusted. I guess that’s what happens in a world filled with spies–people who are trained to lie for what they believe is the “greater good.” Cammie is really no different. Even though she’s a target, she’ll do what she has to–even lie and continue to break about a thousand school rules–to figure out what’s going on in her increasingly tumultuous life…

When Cammie Morgan, Gallagher Girl and spy-in-training, realized that she was a target for an international terrorist organization, she thought her life couldn’t possibly get any more complicated. Oh, how wrong she was. When someone close to her is revealed to be a double agent for the very group trying to get to Cammie, her world tailspins once again. Who can she trust? Is there anywhere that is safe? And why is she so important?

When Cammie returns to her beloved Gallagher Academy, things are more tense than ever.  A new teacher on the scene doesn’t make things any easier, and Cammie suspects that this newcomer knows more than he is revealing. But how to get him to talk… Well, that’s where her three best friends come in.

As Cammie, Bex, Liz, and Macey investigate what’s really happening around them, danger draws ever closer…but the danger may not come from who they expect. These girls will have to put their trust in each other and one very important unknown quantity to even begin to uncover the truth. They’ll have to use their considerable skills to crack codes, disarm explosives, bypass security, and break into top-secret locations. Are they good enough to succeed in their missions and find the answers they seek? Can they do it and keep themselves–and those they care about–out of harm’s way?

Cammie and company will uncover long-held secrets, but even more questions will arise. Is Cammie ready for what she finds? I guess we’ll have to find out…

_______________

I guess it could go without saying that, after four books, I’m thoroughly invested in this series. Knowing there are only two books left to wrap up everything is just a little anxiety-inducing. (I’m going to give myself a little break before I pick up book five, Out of Sight, Out of Time. Man, even the title is making me nervous. Maybe I’ll get to it sooner than planned…) This is one series I can definitely see being adapted for TV. If the rumors are true, it could happen one of these days!

If you’d like more information on the Gallagher Girls series and other books by Ally Carter, check out http://allycarter.com/.

Leave a Reply

