YALLFest Interview: Lisa McMann

Okay…so I’m kind of fangirling a little over today’s YALLFest interview with Lisa McMann. I’ve read several of her amazing novels, and those I haven’t read are definitely on my to-read list. Here’s a list of Lisa’s books:

Lisa has also been a featured author in Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction and Dear Bully: Seventy Authors Tell Their Stories.

Let’s learn a little more about the fabulous Lisa McMann!

LisaMcMann

Images from Goodreads

What one thing do you need to have when you write?

Silence.

Best writing tip you ever received?

“Think of the one thing your main character would never, ever do. Now make her do it.”

What are you working on now?

We’ll be ramping up the releases of books 5, 6, and 7 in the Unwanteds series, so I’m working on Unwanteds book 5 right now.

What is your favorite genre to write in? To read?

I really enjoy writing in a variety of genres, from realistic to paranormal to dystopian fantasy. At the moment, fantasy is winning, but that could change at any moment. My favorite genre to read is memoir.

At what point in the development of an idea do you know that it will become a full-length novel?

As soon as I have a one line concept that gives me a little shiver.

_______________

I’m so excited I have the opportunity to meet Lisa McMann and dozens of other fantastic authors at YALLFest!  Join me, won’t you?

If you want to learn more about YALLFest, check out the event on FacebookTwitter, and the YALLFest website!  I know the keynote with Veronica Roth (!!!!!!) and Rae Carson is sold out, but I think tickets are still available for the YA Smackdown. Everything else is free!

Leave a Reply

