Allegiant

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you know that Allegiant, the third and final book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent series, was released this week. You’ve probably also heard that fans are having some pretty strong reactions–both positive and negative–to how things played out in this book. (Truthfully, some of them are being jerks about it. At the end of the day, it’s not up to me how the book ended, but I can decide to be mature about how I react to it.)

This book was nothing like I expected it to be. (Honestly, I’m not totally certain what I expected after Divergent and Insurgent, but I’m sure it wasn’t this.) That being said, I truly enjoyed the book, and, even though things didn’t happen like I anticipated–or even wanted–I felt it was a fitting, disturbing, and thought-provoking end to a series that captivated me from the first page.

I’m not going to say much more about Allegiant here. To be perfectly honest, I’m still processing what happened (even though I finished the book about four hours ago). I was thrown for a loop, and I cried so much that I’m likely a little dehydrated now.  A person can’t experience a book like this without some inner turmoil, and I’m still working through mine. (I predict that anyone who reads it will feel the same.)

So…love or hate the final installment, Roth’s Divergent series is over. At least until the Divergent movie comes out on March 21st. If you’re anything like me, what happens in Allegiant may just color how you view this movie.

4 comments on “Allegiant

  1. Oh my! I’m only a few chapters in…now I’m really nervous…and worried for Four. 😉

Leave a Reply

