Leepike Ridge

It’s time for some brutal honesty. I did not want to read this book. The only reason I picked it up is because it’s one of the books for my school district’s Battle of the Books competition, and I knew I needed to be familiar with it. It’s not something I would normally read, and that may be why it took me nearly three weeks to finish Leepike Ridge by N.D. Wilson. After finishing the book, I can see why many of my students would enjoy it, but it definitely wasn’t the book for me.  (I’m not an outdoorsy person, so books about surviving in nature are not my cup of tea.)

It all started with a refrigerator box.  Eleven-year-old Tom Hammond probably never thought that kicking around a box and the foam inside would lead to such trouble…but it did. What starts out as a rather innocent evening playing with a piece of foam ends up with Tom trapped under his home on Leepike Ridge!

Tom uses all of his wits to survive in this frightening environment. He encounters more than he ever expected (including a corpse that–oddly enough–gives him some survival tools). He even meets up with a dog and another survivor, and these three will work together to finally find a way out of the mountain.

While Tom is fighting for his life, his mom is fighting a battle of her own. She knows her son is alive, but she’ll have to work to convince others…all while fending off treasure hunters who are out for their own interests.

Will Tom ever find his way home? Just what will he find within Leepike Ridge? And what will he learn about himself throughout this terrifying ordeal? Discover the truth when you read Leepike Ridge by N.D. Wilson.

_______________

Fans of Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet, Robinson Crusoe, Tom Sawyer, and even Indiana Jones may find something to enjoy in this book. I talked a little about it with my fourth graders the other day, and both the boys and girls seemed gung-ho to read it. I think this is a good book for upper elementary and middle grade readers who enjoy action-adventure stories…especially stories where the main characters are battling the elements.

For more information on Leepike Ridge and other books by N.D. Wilson, visit http://www.ndwilson.com/.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s