Mind Games

Happy New Year’s Eve, dear readers! I hope everyone has had a great year filled with wonderful books! (I’m good with the wonderful books part of that sentence. The “great year?” Not so much. I’m praying that 2014 is kinder than 2013 was. There were some good times–the birth of my second niece, Ellie, being the best of those–but there were some extremely low points that I’m still struggling to deal with.)

Anyway, you guys likely don’t want to hear any sob stories from me. You’re here for the books, right? (If not, you’ve definitely come to the wrong place.) My last post of 2013 focuses on an aptly named book–Mind Games by Kiersten White. I picked up this book because I adored White’s Paranormalcy series, and I hoped Mind Games would have, at the very least, a similar tone. Well, I was wrong on the tone thing, but I still got another gem of a book from this author. Mind Games is, as the title would suggest, quite the mind trip, and, even though I’m thoroughly enmeshed in the world created in this first installment, I still have tons of questions about what’s really going on. I’m sure other readers are with me on that.

Mind Games is told from two different perspectives–those of sisters Annie and Fia–and their stories venture into the past and the present (and even the future, to a certain degree).

Tragically orphaned when they were younger, Annie and Fia are now under the control of the mysterious Keane Foundation. Annie, the older sister, is blind but gets glimpses of the future in her visions. Fia, who will protect her sister at all costs, is guided by her infallible instincts. Both of them are tools to be used by Keane, for whatever purposes deemed necessary.

When Fia rebels against an order to assassinate someone, her world–which was precariously balanced to begin with–begins to unravel. She doesn’t know who to trust anymore…and that includes those closest to her.

Through the years with Keane, Fia has had to do some truly horrible things, things that stained her hands with blood, but now she’ll face her most daunting task.  How can she escape Keane’s clutches while keeping her sister safe? Is that even possible anymore? What choices does Fia have, and can she use those choices to bring down Keane before he gets more girls under his iron control?

Annie’s visions and Fia’s instincts lead readers through a world of secrets, lies, espionage, and murder in this thrilling novel. Both girls are strong characters…even though their strength manifests in very different ways.

Nothing is tied up neatly at the end of this intriguing book, and that makes me even more eager for the sequel, Perfect Lies, which is due for a February 18, 2014, release.

Fear not, though! If you want more of Annie and Fia, there is a free prequel short story–titled Annie and Fia–available for download.  I read it immediately after finishing Mind Games, and it definitely added to my understanding of these fascinating characters.

For even more information on Mind Games and other books by Kiersten White, check out her blog at http://kierstenwrites.blogspot.com/.  You may also like this book trailer from HarperTeen. It captures Mind Games in ways I could never hope to. Enjoy, and have a happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

