We Were Liars

It should go without saying that I read a lot. Some books are good; some…not so much. Last night, I finished a book that absolutely blew me away. I’m not exaggerating when I say that this may be one of the best books I’ve read so far this year.

Thanks to NetGalley, I was able to read an advanced copy of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Now, I’ve read other books by this author (Dramarama, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks), but those in no way prepared me for this book. Those other books were fairly light-hearted. This one definitely was not.

From the very beginning of We Were Liars, there was a feeling of foreboding. I knew something bad was coming, but I didn’t know what it would be. And when the “bad” was revealed, I was totally unprepared. I quickly devolved into an emotional wreck, and, to be honest, I still haven’t come to grips with what happened.

We Were Liars takes a look at the Sinclair family, a wealthy but broken family that brings to mind the Kennedys. Every summer, the Sinclairs descend on their own private island. The story is told from the perspective of Cadence, and she tells readers all about the rest of the Sinclair family, especially her cousins Johnny and Mirren, and Gat, the nephew of her aunt’s boyfriend, who also spends summers on the island.

Cadence, Johnny, Mirren, and Gat are known as the Liars. (I’m still not clear on why they gave themselves that name, but that’s okay.) They do almost everything together, and Cadence and Gat even have something of a romance. During their fifteenth summer, though, everything goes horribly wrong. So wrong that Cadence can’t remember any of it.

What happened that summer? Why is Cadence now plagued by crippling migraines and amnesia? The answer to these questions will shock you–and Cadence–and nothing will ever be the same.

_______________

You may have noticed that I didn’t tell you much about this book. That is intentional. We Were Liars is a book that you need to experience for yourself. It is a very powerful read that I think will leave all readers in a fog long after the last page.

To be honest, my reaction to the end of this book surprised me. No, I was not prepared for what happened, but I thought I would have handled it better. In reality, I had to stop a moment, take my glasses off (because of all the tears), and sob. A few Kleenex later, I continued reading, but then I had to go through that whole process again. That ending hit me hard, and I predict that most readers will feel the same way.

If you’re looking for your next great read, definitely consider We Were Liars. It hits stores on May 13th, and I think it will be a bestseller in no time. It’s outstanding.

For more information on We Were Liars and E. Lockhart, check out the author’s website. You can find links to her many other pages there.

Leave a Reply

