So long, 2014. Hello, 2015!

KnightReadertagxedo_Jan1_2015

It’s time, boys and girls, to reflect on my year in reading. Sadly, I read much less in 2014 than in previous years. Only 301 books! (You may recall that the magic number in 2013 was 408 books.) I blame Netflix for taking me away from my reading a bit. (Binge-watching Doctor Who, Supernatural, Criminal Minds, Sherlock, Merlin, The Blacklist, and Firefly can be something of a time-suck.) I also spent a lot of time with my adorable nieces, so I can’t be too bummed that my reading suffered…if you consider 301 books bad, that is.

As you may have guessed, not every book I read made it here to Knight Reader. Some of those books were picture books or novels geared toward elementary age readers, so I reviewed those on Knight Reader Junior. I decided not to review some books–mostly picture books and romance novels–at all. (Sometimes I just like to sit back and enjoy a book without worrying what I’m going to say about it.)

Of the 99 posts on Knight Reader in 2014, I read and reviewed mostly fiction (but a couple of nonfiction books may have crept in). Most of the novels I read were middle grade and YA books, but I did make time for a few adult reads. Some of those were mentioned on this blog. (There’s really something here for everyone, isn’t there?!)

Anyhoo, I know you’re just dying to know what my favorite books of 2014 were, so here goes:

  1. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (If you’re suprised, you must be new here.)
  2. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan (Again, not exactly a shocker.)
  3. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins (Totally worth the wait.)
  4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell (Adult novel by a favorite author. I will read anything this woman cares to write.)

I tried to come up with my 5th favorite to round things out, but there were just too many vying for that position, and I couldn’t decide, so here are some of my other top reads, in no particular order. (Some of these were written prior to 2014).

See, too many to choose.

Well, that’s a wrap on my reading in 2014. Now it’s time to move on to 2015 (whether I’m ready or not). I’m actually planning to read less this year than in previous years. I’m only challenging myself to read 250 books. Now, I know you’re probably thinking that this doesn’t sound like me, and I’d have to agree with you. The thing is…I need to focus on some other stuff this year.

Yes, reading–and blogging–will still be a huge part of my life. (250 books is still no small feat, and I’m just three books away from my 600th post here on Knight Reader.) I must, however, devote quite a bit of time to getting healthier. That means actually going outside, cooking something other than chicken strips and tater tots, eating out less, and cutting out diet sodas. All of that will take time and no small amount of effort. I also want to spend even more time with my family…and since my nieces and their parents (also known as my sister and brother-in-law) have moved closer to me, that will be easier than ever.

So, as I look to the year ahead, I promise to keep sharing my love of reading with all of you…and I hope to get healthier so that I can do this for many years to come. Join me, won’t you?!

Happy New Year!

6 comments on “So long, 2014. Hello, 2015!

  1. msyingling says:

    Definitely slacking at 300 books. ; ) Still a lot more than many people read. I know that finding the PBS app cut into my reading time! Hope 2015 is a year filled with more books and fewer tater tots!

    • I know! I feel like such a slacker, but I have to make time for my two little darlings now. Here’s hoping that 2015 brings both of us some excellent books! (I’ll work on the tater tot thing!)

  2. Jennifer jimison says:

    Happy New Year! And best wishes for living healthier. I love your posts and read many of the books you recommend. Which seems to make me a hit with my younger nieces and nephews. I am their go-to when they need a recommendation for a book report or to let them know about the upcoming movie adaptations so they can read the book first (which is always better!). I work with college students who are all reading YA books. I hope people let you know how special and appreciated you and your posts are. Here is to a wonderful 2015!

  3. Suzi Knebusch says:

    Good luck with the health improvements! We DO want you around for a loooong time! You do a great service with your reviews but enjoying your family is top of the list. Well, number 2–your health is top. Having a balance is healthy, too! Happy 2015!

Leave a comment