The Fate of Ten

If you haven’t read the following books in the I Am Number Four series, stop reading this post. It will likely make zero sense if you’re not completely caught up.

Now, let’s turn our attention to The Fate of Ten

A few of my librarian colleagues are dismayed that I like this series and, even more, that I’ve stuck with it this long. What can I say? Once I got hooked on the first book (but not the horrible movie adaptation), it was all over. I simply had to know what happened next. I’ll admit that I’m kind of surprised that the series is still going nearly six years later, but, with this latest book, the end is at least in sight.

I read the bulk of The Fate of Ten last night. Even though I started the book about four weeks ago, I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to keep reading until yesterday. For some reason, I was in the mood for the literary equivalent of a Michael Bay film. I wanted action, conflict, destruction, and a bunch of kick-butt aliens. That’s exactly what I got.

The Fate of Ten picks up right where The Revenge of Seven left off. (It also includes a bunch of stuff from Rebel Allies, so it’s important to read those stories as well.) It is essentially a couple of huge battles, with the Garde working to make their way back to each other.

Some of the Garde we’ve come to know in previous books are fighting the Mogadorians outside the Loric Sanctuary in Mexico. Six, Marina, and Adam, a reformed Mog now helping the Garde, are wondering what power they’ve just freed and what impact it will have on the war with the Mogs. They’re also preparing for a showdown with the big bad villain himself, Setrákus Ra. What Setrákus Ra wants with the Sanctuary, they’re not sure, but they know they must do whatever they can to protect themselves and whatever’s inside. Reinforcements may be on the way, but will they get there in time…and will they be enough for the fight to come?

In New York, John and Sam are dealing with a full-scale Mogadorian invasion. They’re on the hunt for Five and Nine, but they don’t know where to begin. Surviving from minute to minute is a struggle, and they’re looking for Mogs with guns around every corner. On top of that, Sam is learning to use his brand-new Legacies, and it seems that he’s not the only one. John and Sam run into a girl who’s developing powers of her own. How is this possible? How many other humans now have Legacies, and what is their role in the war between the Mogs and the Loric Garde?

With all of this going on, there’s still the question of Ella (Ten) and what exactly the evil Setrákus Ra has planned for her. What is to be her fate in this war, and can this one girl do anything to turn the tide?

Is there any way for the Loric Garde to defeat Setrákus Ra and his Mogadorian army? What surprises are still in store for this battered–but still fighting–group of young people? And who will they lose in their quest to save the only home they have left?


If I say much more, I’m going to give too much away, so I’m going to try to wrap things up quickly.

Even with all of the surprises this book threw my way–or maybe because of them–I enjoyed The Fate of Ten. It kept my interest the whole way through, and it satisfied my need for a good “shoot-em-up” experience. I look forward to seeing how things are resolved in what should be the final novel, United As One.

United As One is set to be released on June 28th this year, so the wait is not too long. In the meantime, I know we’ve got at least a couple more Lost File novellas to get through. The Lost Files #13, Legacies Reborn, came out in November, and #14, Last Defense, was released on February 23rd. Both of these were published as ebooks. I’m not sure at this point if there will be another novella, but I’ll be on the lookout. If the series stays true to pattern, it’s probably necessary to read the novellas before picking up United As One.

If you’d like to learn even more about this series, go to the I Am Number Four Fans website. Also, take a peek at the official The Fate of Ten book trailer below. It touches on something that I just glanced over in this post. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

